CORPORATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Corporate Affairs Committee was held on 15 February 2012.

PRESENT: Councillor Clark (Chair), Councillors Brunton, Hawthorne, Mrs H Pearson, OBE,

P Purvis and Saunders.

OFFICERS: C Davies, S Harker, R Long and R Painter.

**ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Councillor Williams.

** DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No Declarations of Interest were made at this point of the meeting.

** MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 19 October 2011 were taken as read and approved as a true record.

APPOINTMENT - INDEPENDENT MEMBER STANDARDS COMMITTEE/SUB COMMITTEE

A report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services was presented to request Members to consider the re-appointment of an independent member of the Council's Standards Committee and Review Sub Committee.

Following the enactment of the Localism Act 2011, the present standards regime was due to cease at the end of July 2012. For the remainder of that period of time before the committee(s) were abolished, the Council would still need to respond to any complaints against Members and have independent members available to sit on the Standards Committee and its sub committees.

The term of office of one of the current members, Professor Brian Footitt, had recently expired and rather than look to external recruitment for appointment for this short period of time, Members were requested to consider his re-appointment as a member of the Standards Committee and as Chair of the Standards (Review) Sub Committee for the remainder of the life of both committees. Professor Footitt was first appointed as a member of the Standards Committee in 2008 and was willing to continue.

The Council would be required to consider how it would deal with ethical standards issues in the future and the Monitoring Officer would report to Council on this in due course.

ORDERED that Professor Brian Footitt be re-appointed as a member of the Standards Committee and Chair of the Standards (Review) Sub Committee up until 31 July 2012 or until the abolition of those committees, whichever was the later date.

FURTHER ELECTORAL REVIEW OF MIDDLESBROUGH

A report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services was presented to inform Members of the proposed electoral review to be carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission.

In 2011 the Local Government Boundary Commission notified the Council that it had decided to carry out a further electoral review due to the current electoral imbalances in Middlesbrough. The process would commence in May 2012, and the Commission would be making a presentation to the Council on 22 February 2012.

The electoral register for February 2012 indicated that one ward (Middlehaven) had a variance of more than 30% and a further six wards had variances of more than 10%. The current variances were set out in a table on page two of the submitted report along with details of previous reviews.

A series of briefing meetings had been organised at the request of the Commission for the Mayor, Leaders of Political Groups, Officers and the whole Council.

The Commission could make the following recommendations for local authority electoral arrangements:

- The total number of Councillors to be elected to Council (known as "Council size").
- The number of boundaries of wards or divisions.
- The number of Councillors to be elected for each ward or division.
- The name of any ward or division.

A typical review timetable was included in the submitted report. The Commission had indicated their intention to commence their review in May 2012 and details of the process for the Review were outlined in the submitted report.

The Committee was informed that the Overview and Scrutiny Board would be undertaking a scrutiny investigation into the Review.

ORDERED that the information provided be received and noted.

** EXCLUSION - PRESS - PUBLIC

ORDERED that the press and public be excluded from the meeting for consideration of Agenda Item 7 only on the grounds that, if present, there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and that the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighed the public interest in disclosing the information.

SCHOOL GOVERNING BODIES - APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNORS

A report of the Head of Commissioning and Resources was presented regarding vacancies for Local Authority appointed School Governors that had arisen as a result of resignations, the expiry of terms of office or the removal of Governors due to non-attendance and any vacancies deferred from previous meetings of the Corporate Affairs Committee.

It was noted that there were currently 13 vacancies out of a total of 142 Governorships for Local Authority representatives, which equated to 9.15%. The nominations received for such vacancies were outlined in Appendix 1 of the report submitted and a further update was tabled at the meeting.

ORDERED as follows:-

1. That the following appointments be approved for a four-year term of office:

School	<u>Governor</u>
Captain Cook Primary	Mr R Robertson (wef 25.6.12)
Chandlers Ridge Primary	Mr P Thwaites (wef 25.6.12)
Green Lane Primary	Mrs J Berry (wef 15.2.12)
Hemlington Hall Primary	Councillor N J Walker (wef 30.4.12)
Kader Primary	Councillor Mrs H Pearson, OBE (wef 19.4.12)

Lingfield Primary Councillor J Hobson

(wef 25.6.12)

Newport Primary Mrs A Smith

(wef 15.2.12)

Pallister Park Primary Councillor G Purvis

(wef 25.6.12)

Rose Wood Primary Mrs L M Christie

(wef 12.6.12) Mr M A Willis (wef 15.2.12)

St Augustine's RC Primary Mr D Foster

(wef 15.2.12)

Acklam Grange Councillor Brunton

(wef 25.6.12)

Councillor J Sharrocks

(wef 15.2.12)

Priory Woods Mr K Flanagan

(wef 15.2.12)

Complementary Management Board Councillor J Brunton

(wef 25.6.12)

Councillor Mrs H Pearson, OBE

(wef 15.2.12)

The Committee's attention was drawn to the Government's plans to convert all schools to Academies by 2015 and it was highlighted that this would have implications for future Governor recruitment.

NOTED